Top listeners:

skip_previous play_arrow skip_next
00:00 00:00
playlist_play chevron_left
  • play_arrow

    The Hit Network

  • play_arrow

    Techno Radio Top Music Radio

  • play_arrow

    Summer Festival Podcast Robot Heart

  • play_arrow

    Electronic Trends Podcast Aaron Mills

  • play_arrow

    New Year Eve Podcast Robot Heart

  • play_arrow

    Techno Podcast Robot Heart

  • play_arrow

    Flower Power Festival Podcast Robot Heart

  • play_arrow

    Tech House Podcast Robot Heart

  • play_arrow

    Winter Festival Podcast Robot Heart


Live Boris Johnson updates as reports suggest Prime Minister will resign today

today7 July 2022 5

share close

Boris Johnson is resigning as Conservative Party leader, the BBC has reported. Boris Johnson has spoken to Tory 1922 Committee chairman Sir Graham Brady and agreed to stand down, with a new Tory leader set to be in place by the party conference in October, a No 10 source said.

‘Chaos’ in Number 10 continues for Prime Minister Boris Johnson as even more ministers hand in their resignation notices. In total 50 ministers have now resigned while even more Conservative MPs, including most in Nottinghamshire, have turned against their once-treasured leader.

Now Chancellor Nadhim Zahawi has told Boris Johnson ‘you must do the right thing and go now’ and Education Secretary Michelle Donelan has resigned.

According to reports chief whip Chris Heaton-Harris, a position once held by Sherwood MP Mark Spencer, entered Number 10 as of the morning of Thursday, July 3. Some of the latest ministers to resign include Brandon Lewis, the Northern Ireland Secretary, who says a divided Conservative party cannot win elections or deliver for the electorate.

So far the PM has refused to go despite loyalists finally speaking out against him. In Mr Johnson’s latest scandal he claimed he had forgotten he was told about deputy chief whip Chris Pincher’s groping allegations before his appointment, despite it coming to light he had in fact known about them as far back as 2019.

READ MORE: ‘This can’t continue’ – Nottinghamshire MPs rebel against Boris Johnson

As a result staunch supports of the PM in Nottinghamshire and beyond, including Red Wall Ashfield MP Lee Anderson, have begun to defect. Some of the most high profile resignations so far include chancellor Rishi Sunak and health secretary Sajid Javid.

In the county just three Tory MPs are still standing behind him: Sherwood’s Mark Spencer, Bassetlaw’s Brendan Clarke-Smith and Broxtowe’s Darren Henry. Thursday will continue to prove a difficult day for the PM.

Reports have since suggested Boris Johnson could refuse to quit a premier, but instead seek to call a snap general election, but this may prove “inappropriate” and put the Queen in a “difficult position” by asking for a dissolution in such circumstances. Follow the blog for the latest.


Written by: thehitnetwork

Rate it

Previous post

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us